Tags

, , , , , ,

Maybe This Was the Way It Really Happened: Evee's StoryMaybe This Was the Way It Really Happened: Evee’s Story by Jaderowan Restrepo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is one author’s take on the biblical story of Adam and Eve. I really loved how Restrepo put her own spin on the original Biblical story, told through a series of confessions Eviee makes to her sons one day. She tells them all about the Garden and what led to the fall from grace.

The author’s style is an interesting mix. It’s got a fast pace with lots of short sentences, while also managing to be poetic and formal at the same time. It’s not something I see often in books, so I appreciated the change. I especially enjoyed Eviee’s interactions with one of the angels and God.

I will warn that this is not a book for the under 18 crowd, as it contains some adult content. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens in the rest of the “Maybe” series.

