Tags

, , ,

The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature and God…. And I firmly believe that nature brings solace in all troubles.
― Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

I remember reading Miss Frank’s words for the first time when I was in middle school. It was the first time I’d been exposed to such horror, but the thing that has always stuck with me most wasn’t the terror that Anne and her family endured. It was her writing and the spirit that came through clearly on each page.

Quotes like this are just one example of the depth she had, and it gives a glimpse into her hope. Her ability to see good in even the worst situations. This quote in particular resonates deeply for me.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

These trees are stunning. I love the way they form a canopy. 

There was a period of time when I was in a bad situation at home. There was a lot of crap going on that affected me deeply and, frankly, nature is one of the things that kept me sane. When I was having a rough day and frustrated with things, I would take a music player with me and go for a walk. Between the activity, music, and the scenery, I was able to work out some of the feelings and get my head straight.

Today, when I’m feeling overwhelmed by everything I need to get done, I like to take a trip to one of the parks in our area. There is one in particular I love because it is so lush. It’s the closest you’ll get to real nature in the middle of a city and, let me tell you, it’s one of the best places for me to get away from it all. I love to use that setting to work through any stories I’m having trouble with, frustrations, etc.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

These guys are too cute. Watching them run and play is awesome for stress release. 

I can’t imagine not being able to go off and enjoy some scenery, or watch the animals doing their thing. What about you? Do you like this quote as well? Is nature a favorite place to retreat for you? I’d love to hear about it.

