Tags

, , ,

NOTE: This review originally appeared on New Age Mama, for which I do reviews. As always, all thoughts are my own, even though I was sent the screener link for free.

Rose McGowan, perhaps best known for her role as Paige on Charmed, has moved behind the camera in her directorial debut. The short film, DAWN, has gotten a lot of praise after premiering at the Sundance Film Festival.

The movie follows a young girl who wants a little more excitement in her life. However, she ends up getting a lot more than she could have planned on after making some new friends. It stars Tara Barr as the title character and takes viewers on a trip through the ’60s, including sites and sounds that bring the era to life. Check it out and then see my thoughts below. 🙂

I thought that it was a great effort overall. I particularly liked Barr and McClendon, the guy she has a flirtation with. The cheery and innocent backdrop of the ’60s makes a great contrast to darker path the film takes toward the end. I was on the edge of my seat, knowing something big was coming.

If you’re looking for an alternative to big-budget movies that sometimes have more flash than substance, I’d check this one out. I was pleased to learn that McGowan has released the film for free on her YouTube account because, “I want to promote thought and art, free of charge. I hope you’ll enjoy.”

