Writing Update ImageAs I may have mentioned last time, this year’s CampNaNo did not quite go according to plan. Actually, it’s kind of how both camps went this year. I had planned to do a couple of specific projects last time and work on the second book of my Lightworker trilogy this time around.

The month started off shaky (which you also probably already knew) and I got off to a slow start. As in a not-making-word-goal-the-majority-of-the-month slow. Not only that, but I stalled out at under 40K after adding in over 1100 and 3700 words in short stories for an anthology, respectively. So, with the month winding down and the pressure on, what was a writer to do?

Move on.

I decided to let CP look at the original project and see where I could add words later on and decided to work on the second part of a story involving time travel. I also wrote a short story for one of the writing groups I’m in. The leader works at the same library the meetings are held in. He also happens to publish our short stories there and makes them available to patrons. I thought I’d share a little bit from that story. It may just be making an appearance in full one of these days…

Did you ever wonder what horrible thing you must have done in a previous life to deserve what you are forced to put up with day in and day out? It’s how I feel all the time. I don’t know where the feeling came from. I used to be perfectly fine with my lot in this life, but it’s been so much harder lately.

I guess it’s to be expected. How often can one person cater to strangers’ whims before you start wondering when it’s your turn. Every day, I go out there and plaster a sweet smile on my face and ask what I can do for them.

Let me tell you something about working with the public: there is never a shortage of strange. You wouldn’t believe the things I see and have to do to keep people happy. Still, I smile and comply. It’s my job, and I take my job very seriously. I honestly don’t know how to do anything else. It’s like this conscientious streak of mine was ingrained in me from the beginning.

I know what you’re thinking right now. Why not just quit? Is a job really worth it if you’re miserable all the time? I’d love to say ‘no’, but that’s just not possible. Everyone has that one thing they’re born to do and this is mine. I know that, and I’ve accepted it. Still, I’m so close to my breaking point and one more demanding person will push me over it. I just know it.

Camp NaNo July 2015Ultimately, I ended up making my word count and then some, plus I have a shiny new story to unleash on the world– I’m thinking a short collection that will be made available to my newsletter subscribers. Stay tuned! So what have you been up to this week? I’d love to hear about it.

Until next time!

