Tags

, , , , ,

This is a review for a yet-to-be-released work, so keep an eye on Marni’s Facebook or Twitter to see when it comes out. The first four episodes are available on Amazon.

Unblocked - Episode Five (Timber Towers, #5)Unblocked – Episode Five by Marni Mann

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Disclaimer: I received a free copy for review purposes.

I’ve seen some other reviews on this book and I have to say that I agree with a point I’ve seen a few times: I’m really sad that this is over. I’ve enjoyed getting to meet Frankie and Derek over the course of this series, and it’s always a disappointment to see a series end.

That said, I really am happy overall with how the series turned out and I’m looking forward to see what’s next from Marni. She once again brought an almost poetic flair to the story that brought a lot of emotion, combining the trademark darkness of her characters with some cute moments that make you smile. Obviously, this is one only for the 18 and over crowd who enjoys a little mystery in their erotica. For more spoilery thoughts on this story, please keep reading. Otherwise? Consider yourself warned.

If there was one thing that bothered me, it was the death of one of the characters. I’m not opposed to killing off characters, it just seemed to come out of nowhere to me. Still, maybe that’s part of what made it good in retrospect. The little signs were there (as pointed out by one of the characters), but they were so subtle they were easily lost in the drama that has taken over the Frankie’s and Derek’s lives.

I continue to love Derek. He’s a dark man, fueled by anger and pain. Still, this very pain is what makes him such a great man and so good for Frankie: it drives him to be better than the one his hate is directed toward both as a human being and as a professional.

Frankie is, as usual, a fun character and I really enjoyed seeing her evolve from being a driven woman focused only on her career to a person who is willing to admit she wants more in her life. She’s strong-willed, yet vulnerable at the same time and I am happy with how things turned out for her in the end.

View all my reviews

