Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So, it’s been a little over ten years since Doctor Who returned to TV, and I came across this article ranking the incarnations of the modern era. If you know me at all, you know that I really disagree with this list, but I thought I would share and give my perspective on these actors and their versions of the character.

#5 for me is David Tennant. Now, don’t get me wrong here. The 10th had his moments, but I just have never been able to get into the whole Tennant love. I thought his Doctor was hard to deal with a lot of times because he had a bit of a spoiled teenager side to him. He was completely wrong about Harriet Jones, he treated Martha badly at times, and he and Donna were sometimes hard to take. I also can’t enjoy his farewell as much as others, because he was so rude to Donna’s grandfather. He was also the only modern Doctor to act like he mattered more than a human being. Especially one that was trying to help him.

#4 is the War Doctor, but only because he was there for only two episodes (not the one the article indicated). I actually liked his grumpy take on the Doctor, and thought that underneath the hard edge, he showed a lot of humor. “Am I having a mid-life crisis?”

#3 will have to be Capaldi, as he has only been around so far for one season and I haven’t really had a lot of time to get to know him. Still, I think he’s showing a lot of great promise, and I can’t wait to see what happens from here. I also am enjoying the little bits of Nine and Four that are coming through in his interpretation of the character. I’d also like to add that the two episodes called out as bad in this article are my two faves (besides “Listen”).

#2 is Matt, and I couldn’t agree with the author on his take on this character more. So why am I not picking him for number 1? Well, because he was not my first Doctor, and that one will also have a special place with me. Even if he was only around one year….

Obviously, you can tell by now that Eccleston was my favorite modern incarnation of the Doctor. I wrote a post all about why he rocked so much, so I will just link you up. 🙂

What about you? Where would the Doctors rank on your list? I’d love to hear about it.

