Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey guys! I’ve been really busy getting some book stuff going, and am putting a new newsletter together. That means no writing update today, but I do have something for you. I recently connected with this author on Facebook and we ended up exchanging guest blogs. I hope you enjoy what he wrote up! After you’re done, please stop by his site and see what I sent to him. Talk to you all soon!

Over one thousand channels on tv and nothing worth watching. Do I really need to see more B-rated stars dance around in outfits that are ugly enough to scare little children? I could watch the news if I wanted to be depressed. I think to myself, “What happened to the good nerdy tv shows that we all grew up watching?” Don’t get me wrong, there are some great shows on television now. For example, The Big Bang Theory, Dark Matter, Defiance, and The Walking Dead.

Even as I watch these tv shows, I can’t help but be nostalgic for the ones that have influenced me over the years. Let’s take a walk down memory lane to look at some of the popular nerd-inspired tv shows.

Doctor Who

Being one of the standards for nerdiness, Doctor Who is a British Pop-Culture icon with a cult-like following. Doctor Who follows the adventures of a rogue Time Lord named “The Doctor”. He fled from his plan in a Mark I Tpe 40 TARDIS (Time and Relative Dimension in Space). As a science fiction classic, it is easy to see how the adventures and mishaps of British actors time traveling makes it appealing..

Battlestar Galactica

Humans and Cylons at war. Based on the original series from the 1970’s, the show was brought back in 2004 for another round of 4 seasons. The computer graphics, acting, and storylines made this show engaging for fans of both cybernetics and space travel. The humans attempt to survive as the machines they have created try to destroy them. If you have not seen this show, it is worth the time.

Star Trek

What is a good list of nerd tv shows without Star Trek? I know that Trekkies all over are screaming, “We are not nerds!” Let’s face it…..you are nerds. That is nothing to be ashamed of. Nerds rule the world and get the women in the end. Based on the premise that space travel has made it possible for humans to form alliances with other alien races, Star Trek quickly became an icon in the science-fiction world. Star Trek has produced over a dozen films and hundreds of tv episodes. Even after 50 years of its original idea, Star Trek is well-known in society. Live long and prosper!

Firefly

Combine space science fiction with a western cowboy flare?! What?! Who could not love that? Writer and Director, Joss Whedon , created this twist on science fiction that is based in the year of 2517. The show follows a wacky mix of renegade onboard the spaceship Serenity, which is a Firefly-class ship. Even after high ratings and an Emmy award, the show was canceled far too early. The cast also reflects some of the biggest names in the science-fiction world, such as Nathan Fillion, Gina Torres, Adam Baldwin, and Summer Glau.

The Guild

One of my personal favorites. For anyone that has been part of the MMORPG lifestyle understands what it is like to be part of a guild. Felicia Day takes this show to a whole new level, combining realistic characters with cosplay in a mash that can only be called brilliant. The Guild is a comedy that will have you begging for more, even though it is no longer being produced. Watch and enjoy!

Buffy and Angel

I cannot really talk about one of these without the other. From the mind of Joss Whedon comes the tale of a Vampire Slayer named Buffy who falls in love with a vampire named Angel. Blazing the path for vampire-lovers with a mix of romance, both of these shows were extremely popular in 1990’s in to the early 2000’s. Buffy the Vampire Slayer won 3 Emmy awards while Angel (a spin-off show) had five seasons with a total of 110 episodes. Any nerd knows about these two shows. Just ask and you will find out!

Chuck

Chuck was an ordinary guy working at the local technology retail store until he was sent a computer program from a friend that happened to also be a spy for the CIA. The program was downloaded into Chuck’s brain which allowed him to have valuable information the CIA needed. This tv show combines technology, action, spies, and beautiful woman to make it a hit. Nerds all over supported the show and kept it limping along until it was canceled in 2012.

In Closing

There you have it. Shows that I have watched and grown with over the years. I know that I missed some, but you get the idea. Nerds are cool, regardless what people think. My name is Ted Roach. As a Nerd, I approve this message.

About the Writer

TR Profile PicMy name is Theodore Roach. I am a self-published author with a passion for helping others. The writing, publishing, and marketing processes have always been interesting to me. As a fantasy fiction fan, I read fantasy books any time I get the chance. My dream is to write and publish fantasy fiction novels.

Website: http://trroach.com/
Email: tedroach@hotmail.com
Twitter: @roach_theodore

