For several years now, I have been talking about the Stains trilogy. This stubborn little story that wouldn’t let me go came from a single image and grew from one book to three novellas. 
StS Final

Tomorrow, the final part of this trilogy is available and I have such mixed feelings. I’m so happy to finally get the chance to get the whole story out there for people, but I’m sad too. This is the end of a journey that began with #CampNaNoWriMo in 2012. That’s a lot of nights where the characters kept me up as they told their story. A lot of revising, self-doubt, changes to the story (including genre and adding characters), rounds of editing, discussions about cover design, and snacks/music to keep me going through it all.

Fiona may have completed her journey, but she helped start me on one that is just beginning. It was this story that really grabbed me and pulled me full-on into writing. The editing process for these books taught me a lot of lessons, opened me up to be more descriptive and vulnerable in my writing, and I can’t thank everyone who has been involved in it enough.

For those who don’t know what the story is about, it follows a young girl who is haunted by nightmares that lead her on a spiritual journey. One that reminds her of pasts long forgotten and brings old wounds back again and again as she struggles to untangle it all. I hope you’ll join Fiona, and me, on this journey. If you have yet to catch up, you are in luck! Book 1 is free today and tomorrow. Book 2 is only .99.

I want to leave you today with a video that inspired me during the writing process. It’s one of my favorite Xtina songs, and I really think it defines Fiona’s character. Enjoy!

