Tags

, , , ,

You may be able to tell from some previous posts that I am a huge fan of ’80s music. I grew up on it and it will always hold a special place for me, thinking of the days when I could dance around in my room to the latest videos on MTV.

 

While the days of watching the top twenty on MTV may be long gone, there are still videos on youtube, stations devoted it to, and (of course) the CDs/Tapes. Recently, CP turned me onto an awesome new band that has the look and sound of the decade where leg warmers were a fashion statement (Hey, don’t judge! One day you’ll be looking back on photos from today or the ’00s and wondering what you were thinking too!)

The band is called Fire Tiger and they recently released their CD, Energy. It’s a ten-song collection that will seriously leave you wondering what year it is. Everything from the vocals to the music is pure classic ’80s Pop/Rock and I am totally obsessed after just one listen.

While all the songs are fun, there are a few in particular I really like. The first being their title track, “Energy”. It’s a fast-paced song that makes you want to get up and dance. The vocals keep with the fun vibe of the song, occasionally going into a falsetto.

“The Same Old Song” shows a deeper side to lead singer Tiff James’ register while having a more moody vibe than some of the others.

“Count Dracula” not only has an awesome title, but a sound that’s straight out of an ’80s horror film.

Finally, I really enjoyed “He Has Changed“. It’s a soft ballad that reminds me of something The Indigo Girls or Suzanne Vega would do. The vocals range from soft and contemplating to strong and assured.

Overall, I really enjoy this CD and can’t wait to see where the group will go from here.

