Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you’ve been following the blog for a while, you know that I started this blog by writing almost exclusively about Country Music. While I have expanded my scope here, I still love the genre, and so I had to check out Carrie’s latest.

Overall, I think this was a great collection that not only went back to some simpler musical roots in a lot of cases, but featured some of the sounds she is known for while also experimenting a bit.

Lyrically, it was great, and I think her vocals get stronger with every album. Seriously, I think she can sing anything, and it makes me seriously jealous. 🙂 So, let’s take a look at a few of my personal highlights…

Relapse.

If this isn’t released as a single, I am going to have serious doubts as to the sanity of her team. The song transitions nicely between soft, melodic verses and a hard chorus. The lyrics are great too, as she compares a bad relationship to an addiction.

The Girl You Think I Am.

This song touched me on a different level than the lyrics intend. The song talks about a father’s love, and how she wants to live to to the image he has of her in his mind because, “he’s my biggest fan.” I can’t personally relate to the song on a straight lyrical level, but I do get that level of support from CP, and hope that I live up to that.

Like I’ll Never Love You Again.

Another favorite, mostly for the melody.

Heartbeat.

This is another love song that’s all about wanted to completely unplug for a while and just be alone together, listening to nothing but their heartbeat. The lyrics are nice, and I love the vocals in it. Plus, the video is a perfect match for it…

So, those are my personal highlights. What about you? Have you heard this one? If so, what are you favorites? I’d love to hear about them. Until next time!

